Page 2 of 3

Re: Making it three column.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:29 pm
by jack
Just a suggestion... It appears that sidebars are created in a different order on your main page as other pages - I suspect your main page is created with index.php whereas the other pages are using the page template page.php - see if you can do things in the same order there as on the main page.

Jack

Re: Making it three column.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 4:07 pm
by ghost
I too have tried the above instructions and I can attest, they do NOT work. I too am getting the sidebar content at the bottom of the page. I've tried all suggestions and nothing appears to work.

Would it be too much to ask for the admin (or another knowledgeable person here) to post the EXACT code we need to replace? I.E...
Code: Select all
your sidebar.php file should look like this

Code: Select all
replace it with this


Also, before posting, could you please test the mods changes on an unmodified version of the theme? I ask because since several people are having exactly the same problem, its obvious an important step has been omitted somewhere along the way. Note - The sidebar code in my style.css does not even remotely resemble the code sample that was given.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Making it three column.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:28 pm
by jack
This is a bit awkward... I took on a job for a user of this template and for a fee made a number of changes - including 3-column format. I'm not comfortable making the code public without permission, and as you can see by the site, she's busy for the next month! http://rtwin30days.com/

A number of small changes had been made in the template before I worked on it, so the precise same code might not work for all in any event, but as you can see, it does work as a 3-column layout.

In general terms, the sidebar content position is dependent on the order in which sidebars are created in relation to the main content. As I recall, the sidebars had to be generated before the content. There are a number of places in the style.css where the wrapper, content, and post widths must be adjusted, as well as the width of both sidebars and of course the left sidebar must be 'float left' and the right, 'float right'. Experimentation may be the order of the day -

jack at highsierradesign dot com

Re: Making it three column.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 1:14 pm
by wg816
I stayed up all night trying to figure this out and I think I got it. I feel like an expert on the matter now. Hopefully this will put the topic to rest.
http://WGProductions.com is my site


file: sidebar-1.php

<div id="sidebar">

<?php if ( !function_exists('dynamic_sidebar') || !dynamic_sidebar('sidebar1') ) : ?>
<?php endif; ?>
</div>

That's it! I think it's saying, if there isn't already a dynamic sidebar called sidebar1, then make one!

----------------------

file: sidebar-2.php

<div id="sidebar2">

<?php if ( !function_exists('dynamic_sidebar') || !dynamic_sidebar('sidebar2') ) : ?>
<?php endif; ?>

</div>

That's it on this file also. If there isn't a dynamic sidebar named sidebar2, then make one.

----------------------

add the sidebars to these 3 files:
index.php <-- the first page (u may not want sidebars on the home page?)
page.php
single.php
------------

<?php get_header(); ?>

<?php get_sidebar("1"); ?>
<?php get_sidebar("2"); ?>
..........

whatever is in the ('xxx') gets put at the end of the sidebar-xxx.php
since i used 1 and 2 i made sidebar-1.php and sidebar-2.php
modify all these of this files, you can't do just one.

-----------------------------------
file: style.css
copy all the "sidebar" shit and paste them and call them "sidebar2"
sidebar
...

#sidebar {
text-decoration: underline;
font-size: 12px;
width: 75px;
float: left;
margin-top: 20px;
}
...
#sidebar2 {
font-size: 12px;
width: 175px;
float: right;
margin-top: 0px;

}
...

something like that. The width is from the left and right edge.

**i made a lot of changes to my files so my content fit good with my background and I'm still changing it, so if you copy my code exactly, backup your files so you can take note of the changes and merge the code.

http://wgproductions.com/wp-content/the ... %20column/
rename that one file to index.php

these files are in "wp-content/themes/sliding-door/"

log into wp-admin, goto appearence -> widgets and you should have 2 sidebar widgets that u can add shit to. ;)

Who's ya daddy now?

Re: Making it three column.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 2:09 pm
by burn1976
It worked for me, thanks for your detailed help ;-)

Re: Making it three column.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:14 am
by wg816
burn1976 wrote:It worked for me, thanks for your detailed help ;-)


i"m glad... that took hella work. I tinkered with the code mostly trial and error while i'm googling info about it. I made sure to keep track of what all i was doin so no one else gotta do as much research

Re: Making it three column.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 3:13 pm
by mbe
I have been working all week to get our website converted to the sliding door theme with three columns. I finally have the three columns but the smaller column on the left and right don't start until the bottom of the larger center column. I have tried different margin sizes, etc and nothing has worked for me. Would anyone be willing to look at my style sheet and or give me a suggestion to help me out?
Thanks so much!
Morgan
morganbedwards@yahoo.com

Re: Making it three column.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:03 pm
by Martini
thanks for the info wg816 I am gonna try that tonight or tomorrow.

I also checked out your site... pretty cool too.

Will let you know if I get it to work!

Re: Making it three column.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:49 pm
by mbe
Finally . . . I got it! It was working for me if I wanted our blog roll in the center column, but when I set our site to use a page (i.e. the 'home' page) in the center column, it wasn't working. If you need it to use a page and not your blog posts, go into your page.php and move the '. . . get sidebar . . .' info to above the '. . . get content . . .' info. Of course, copy it also so you get sidebar 1 and 2.

Love the theme! So relieved to finally have it workin for me!

Re: Making it three column.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 7:37 pm
by Martini
OYE... well the first go around didn't work.
so let's try it again! :D