Page 1 of 3

How to make it 2 columns?

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:20 am
by user
Hi Wayne,

Great theme!

Just one question, I only want two columns so I do delete the third in the code?

Thanks
Neil

Re: How to make it 2 columns?

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 10:43 pm
by wayne
The third column is not really a column at all. Each datestamp is in the same column as the articles,after each article, it's just overlapped vertically with the articles and moved right, and the width of the articles is limited. This creates the illusion of a third column.

In other words, if you change the width of the article to be wider, and then remove the position: absolute; and position: relative; from the CSS file, the third column will collapse into the second column under each article.

Re: How to make it 2 columns?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 11:52 am
by dialogcrm
wayne wrote:The third column is not really a column at all. Each datestamp is in the same column as the articles,after each article, it's just overlapped vertically with the articles and moved right, and the width of the articles is limited. This creates the illusion of a third column.

In other words, if you change the width of the article to be wider, and then remove the position: absolute; and position: relative; from the CSS file, the third column will collapse into the second column under each article.


There are 3 places where absolute and relative are used in the stylesheet.

#wrapper - remove the relative line here
#content .post - remove the relative line here

#content .post-details - remove the absolute line on this one.

This seems to work.

Re: How to make it 2 columns?

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:19 pm
by dstewart015
Does anyone know how to display a sidebar on both the left side and the right side? I see menus for sidebar 1 and sidebar 2 so I set them both up the way I want them but can't get them both to display..... Thanks for any input.

Re: How to make it 2 columns?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:56 pm
by sheakins
dialogcrm wrote:
There are 3 places where absolute and relative are used in the stylesheet.

#wrapper - remove the relative line here
#content .post - remove the relative line here

#content .post-details - remove the absolute line on this one.

This seems to work.


I can't find #content .post in any of the css files. Was this a reference to an older version than the current one? Also, I find absolute and relative many times not just 3.

Can someone who has successfully turned the latest cut into a 2 column site please advise. Which CSS file do you edit and what do you modify?

Thanks.

Re: How to make it 2 columns?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:25 am
by Swerley
Yeah, something is not right here. Those entries are not even coming up in any of the files.

Re: How to make it 2 columns?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:28 am
by Swerley
I hear you man.

It seems as though when I search for #content .post { and #content .post-details { nothing even shows up. Perhaps these have been removed from the style.css file with a recent update?...

sheakins wrote:
dialogcrm wrote:
There are 3 places where absolute and relative are used in the stylesheet.

#wrapper - remove the relative line here
#content .post - remove the relative line here

#content .post-details - remove the absolute line on this one.

This seems to work.


I can't find #content .post in any of the css files. Was this a reference to an older version than the current one? Also, I find absolute and relative many times not just 3.

Can someone who has successfully turned the latest cut into a 2 column site please advise. Which CSS file do you edit and what do you modify?

Thanks.

Re: How to make it 2 columns?

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 4:31 pm
by hap
I would love to use this sliding image feature, but I also can't find a way to change the columns. I think the earlier posts used a different version of this theme and the solutions have not been updated. I would also like to change the color of caption backgrounds for images. White seems a little blunt. Any ideas on how that option can be worked?
Thanks

Re: How to make it 2 columns?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 7:37 pm
by stuntuss
Agreed, Can't use any of the solutions provided on this forum on the updated/newest version.
I'm playing around with no luck

Re: How to make it 2 columns?

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 6:10 am
by molu
My website works fine with following way.
This is for 2 colums and sidebar on the left.
Slidingdoor ver.2.6.1

Step 1 Delete line "relative" from #wrapper on style.css
Step 2 Remove widgets from "Secondary widget area"
Step 3 Delete some lines from "Sidebar.php" (explain bellow)
Step 4 Add "width:630px; " to #content on style.css (explain bellow)

Hope it works. Good luck!

---Step 3-----------------------------------
Go to Appearance > Editor > Sidebar
You'll see below code.
Code: Select all
<div id="sidebar2" class="widget-area" role="complementary">
         <ul class="xoxo">


Delete lines between
Code: Select all
<?php if ( ! dynamic_sidebar( 'secondary-widget-area' ) ) : ?>


and

Code: Select all
<?php endif;


After deletion, code look like this

Code: Select all
<div id="sidebar2" class="widget-area" role="complementary">
         <ul class="xoxo">

Code: Select all
<?php if ( ! dynamic_sidebar( 'secondary-widget-area' ) ) : ?>

Code: Select all
<?php endif;


Then [Update file].

---Step 4-----------------------------------
#content {
margin-bottom: 36px;
width:630px; <----- add here
}