widget area in the footer

Any questions about styling and customising the layout, changing the number of columns, changing the number of sliding images and so on.

widget area in the footer

Postby talta » Mon Dec 03, 2012 4:09 am

hi all,

I am very glad with the theme. However, I desperately need a (at least) five widgets area in the footer, with an inline-display for the widgets. I therefore have a few questions. (Sorry, I am almost still a newbie...)

I can see at least in the functions.php file and the style.css file a mention for an extra widget area in the footer.

What shall I do to "activate" it. Is there any code to be added to get this widget area working? If so, what is the code, where should it be placed?

Also, will this third widget area appear under "Appearance->Widgets"? So that I can drag my widgets in this footer widget area...

Again, the theme is great. It would simply be absolutely perfect for my project if I were only able to add this widget area in the footer...

THANK YOU SO MUCH !!!!!!!!!
talta
I'm new here
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 4:04 am

Re: widget area in the footer

Postby FDS » Sat Dec 22, 2012 6:15 pm

I am having the same problem and I'm also very new to wordpress as well as this board. Here is what I did. It may or may not help you depending on if you want the same result I got.

I did a Google search for the "Facebook logo small".
I then uploaded it to my media
Once it is uploaded, grab the URL for the image and test it in your browser, if it works there, then copy that URL.
Open up your footer template and you will see where there is some HTML coding. That is where I put my coding.
I then added the following code:
<!-- Begin Facebook --><a href="http://www.facebook.com/FisherDesignStudios" target="_blank"><img src="http://www.fisherdesignstudios.com/test/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/facebook-logo.gif" border="0" alt="Like Us on Facebook"></A><!-- End Facebook -->

You can modify it to your needs.

Word of advice: before you add any coding, copy the existing coding to a notepad file or something. In the chance that something does not work right, you can always put the original coding back and modfy it.

Hope this helps
FDS
I'm new here
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:44 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pa


Return to Advanced - Customising the theme